The Student Room Group

working whilst at university

Hey!

Just a question for those who have a part time job whilst at uni, how manageable is it? Im looking to work around 16 hours every week whilst doing my full time psychology course. Im also living off campus and have a half an hour commute. Im quite good at time management and focusing on getting coursework done, though i am a little worried about falling behind, how manageable was it for all of you?

thanks in advance
Hi. I'm a Music Graduate who graduated from Cardiff University a few years ago and worked alongside my studies. I found it quite managable with Music degree as contact time was only 9 hours or so a week, but am aware that for other courses (Medicine for instance) it's a lot harder, so factor that in. At Cardiff there was a Job-Shop (it would be worth checking if your SU has something similar) that I signed up for who send out emails for jobs (first come, first served usually) and picked up some shifts there; quite a variety of work from warehouse picking to modelling for University publications!

The most common source of employment for students is working as Student Ambassadors on open days. This mainly involves giving tours, meet and greet, and acting as a mobile signpost at the train stations. All fun work and helps to bring in the pennies, and it shouldn't be to hard to get a shift covered if you have a deadline looming.