The Student Room Group

Graduate LLB or Conversion

Exploring post-graduate options and keen to understand what is better.

By way of context, I graduated a few years ago with a 2.2 putting 0 effort into my non-law degree, and I now want to pursue a career in Law.

My understanding is that the general consensus online is that having a 2.2 and getting a distinction in the conversion courses (ULaw, BPP doesn't really matter which provider) holds no weight with top firms in comparison to someone getting a 1st or high 2.1 in their LLB.

I am thinking of doing the graduate LLB with the Open University over the next two years and working hard to get an exceptional grade.

Say I got a 1st from my graduate LLB, would I be in a better position than a 2.2 in my non-law + distinction in the conversion course? The extra year of studying is not an issue for me.

Cheers.
What career are you aiming for?
Reply 2
Original post by xoxogossipgirluk
What career are you aiming for?

disputes solicitor, ideally US/international firm with a relocation
Original post by s63530522
disputes solicitor, ideally US/international firm with a relocation

I suggest that you manage your expectations downwards, at least initially. Degree-washing can only get a person so far. You might have to start a legal career in a less shiny bit of the legal world, and try to move up the leagues by demonstrating that you are a hard working and skilled lawyer. If you can fund it, a GDL followed by an LLM at a good university might degree-wash your Desmond better than an LLB at the OU, and would save you a year or more. Do the GDL anywhere except the University of Law, which is a rubbishy degree mill, not well regarded by lawyers in top firms and chambers. Aim high for the LLM. Good luck!

SB (a barrister with an international disputes practice).
Reply 4
Original post by Stiffy Byng