The Student Room Group

I'm autistic ask me anything

Hi,
In honour of autism acceptance week feel free to ask me anything or share experiences
As someone with a similar condition how would you say you condition has impacted your relationships with friends and family.
Reply 2
Original post by King_George_Weah
As someone with a similar condition how would you say you condition has impacted your relationships with friends and family.

For relationships with friends I hadn't made a friend until I started at uni and was quite badly bullied through the other times in education. My friends at the moment I have made through disability services and are also autistic which has helped a lot (I'm not sure how to categorise who my friends are as I'm not good at what fits that criteria but some have referred to me as that)

As for family I think I'm in situation where my dad doesn't speak to any of his family and my mum comes from a small family so don't see anyone apart from my parents and gran. Overall my parents are good sometimes stressful etc but generally understanding and they help explain it to others but apart from them I don't really have any cousins or aunts or uncles that I see so don't have that dynamic which I normally feel very glad about

Hope that helps
Original post by Jess_Lomas
Hi,
In honour of autism acceptance week feel free to ask me anything or share experiences

How did you get diagnosed?
Reply 4
Original post by inland-precision
How did you get diagnosed?

Hi,
I'm not totally sure if you mean how did I get to the assessment process or what the assessment itself was like so I'll answer both sorry if its a bit long