The Student Room Group

Painful friendship breakup - advice needed

Hello! It's been 2 months since a friendship breakup with a friend that I have known since Year 7. I am in my first year of college now.
This is a very long post so I apologise in advance. I'll tell you how the events unfolded:

It was some day in December, coming up to Christmas. I had brought in Christmas presents for her and her friend who I hung out with. That morning I gave it to her. We were hanging out in a little group with some other friends I knew. She was acting normally, but a little quiet. I didn't think anything of it because she had started to be a little quiet around me anyways.

During lunch, we went to the art room to hangout. I ate my lunch and was just hanging out with them, when my friend, let's call her Jane (not her real name), asked me to sit down. I joked 'I hope I'm not in trouble'' with her, but she didn't reply. Then I started wondering what was going on.

I sat opposite to her and she starts by saying ''So I've started to resent you lately..'' I just stared at her, really surprised. I felt calm at first but I wanted to see what else she had to say. She started telling me all the reasons she had started to dislike me bit by bit.

I don't remember all the reasons as she was going fast, but some of them included her feeling betrayed by me, because I often told other people things about her (let me explain this one: I had told a friend that she wore extensions and the friend didn't know. When Jane found out she felt hurt because she wanted her hair extensions to be a secret. Another example was I told her recently new boyfriend that she liked being paid for. when i told him that I had in mind her high standards of men and wanted to hint to him that he should be a gentleman but i guess she and he took that the wrong way because he showed Jane the messages and she got upset? )