The Student Room Group
Chemistry Research, Durham University
Durham University
Durham
Visit website

Durham or Lincoln for Chemistry

Advice please!
I am an American student coming to the UK to study chemistry. The two universities that I really like are Durham and Lincoln. I like that Lincoln has a forensic chemistry course as an option. I am considering going into toxicology. My main concern about Durham is cost, as it is quite a bit more expensive for international students. When visiting and speaking to others, it seemed that a degree from Lincoln would be less valuable than Durham. If I return to the U.S., this would not be a concern. If I stay in the UK, would I have an easier time finding a job if my degree was from Durham? Is it better to study general chem vs forensic chem? If anyone has any advice, I would greatly appreciate it.
I understand the difference in the schools and Durham’s collegiate system. Just wondering if choosing Lincoln would be a mistake!
Original post by Anonymous
Advice please!
I am an American student coming to the UK to study chemistry. The two universities that I really like are Durham and Lincoln. I like that Lincoln has a forensic chemistry course as an option. I am considering going into toxicology. My main concern about Durham is cost, as it is quite a bit more expensive for international students. When visiting and speaking to others, it seemed that a degree from Lincoln would be less valuable than Durham. If I return to the U.S., this would not be a concern. If I stay in the UK, would I have an easier time finding a job if my degree was from Durham? Is it better to study general chem vs forensic chem? If anyone has any advice, I would greatly appreciate it.
I understand the difference in the schools and Durham’s collegiate system. Just wondering if choosing Lincoln would be a mistake!

Hiya!