The Student Room Group

I am a pilot working towards a commercial licence. Ask me anything!

I was reading through aviation and flight training related posts on here and there seems to be a lot of misconceptions and misinformation being spread about becoming a pilot.
I will answer any questions you have about flight training and general aviation in the UK! ask away.
I also posted the general modular training route in another discussion last year. I will post it again here so you can get the basic route explained.

Abbreviations: (PPL- Private Pilot Licence, CPL- Commercial Pilot License, ATPL- Airline Transport Pilot Licence, MEP- Multi Engine Piston, MEIR- Multi Engine Instrument Rating, APS MCC Course - Airline Pilot Standard Multi Crew Cooperation Course) I will post as much detail as possible but if you have any other questions you can private message me. I will explain the modular training route first which is pay as you fly. In order from first to last: PPL training 45 hours minimum training (although most finish in 55-65 hours). PPL will cost you around £9k-£12k
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hour Building, ATPL exams and CPL After the PPL comes the CPL, however you need 150 hours of total flight time under your belt to start this training. This will usually take 1-3 years depending on how much you fly. During this time you will also need to study for and pass 13 ATPL exams (You have 18 months to do them from date of first exam). After passing the last ATPL exam you have 13 months to Obtain a CPL and your MEIR which I explain next.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------