The Student Room Group

Tough decision between universities for Ecology/ Zoology

Hi! So I am currently studying in Arts Bournemouth, and am completely changing career paths into Ecology/ Zoology courses. My current problem is: I already have a house here for next year, which I paid for, and already spent a year here so I am very comfortable in Bournemouth. However, Bournemouth Uni is not very well-known for their Ecology course, and while I like the uni, I've heard that the contact hours are very low. I recently got offers for Zoology at Leeds, Exeter, Royal Holloway and Reading Uni, and I am really liking Leeds the best, but I've got a lot to consider:

Transport- I can't afford to do the journey to visit family often, and can't afford a car.
Job- I need to keep my part-time job to survive at uni, I could transfer to a store in Leeds, however this wouldn't be possible for Exeter as I would be on the Cornwall Campus.
Accommodation- I've already signed a contract and paid a deposit for a house in Bournemouth next year, so I'd have to find someone else to live in my house, and also it might be hard to find accommodation for the new uni as it's late in the year.

I'm very comfortable in Bournemouth, but I don't know if it'll be a mistake to pass up the opportunity to study at a more prestigious uni for my specific topic (I know BU is great for media, but their biology department seems very small). I can volunteer lots here since we are near the coast so that might be good for my career, but I'm not sure how much the university's prestige matters in this industry, and which uni would give me a better education.

Any advice would be great!
Original post by jrodr25