The Student Room Group

Do I switch English Lit to Art A-Level at the beginning of the summer term of Yr 12?

I'm a Year 12 student, currently preparing for my mock exams (yes, the ones that universities will base their offers on) and I am currently taking Maths, English Lit and Drama, used to do Chinese but dropped it.

I am now 100% confident that I want to study Film Production at university. Back in Year 11, I wasn't so sure about that, and as I attend quite an academics-driven school, I was considering degrees like Psychology, Computer Science, Linguistics (and potentially Film, but it was looked down upon, so I didn't bother much), but nothing seemed quite right for me. I selected Art as my reserve option, even though I generally preferred it over English. Art GCSE was quite confusing for me as it was so different from the academic subjects and I constantly had a feeling of "I am not foing enough brain work" and didn't want this story to repeat itself at A-Level (though I ended up getting a 9). Got a 9 in English Lit too (one mark off a 9 in Language), but I remember feeling very overwhelmed by the essays, and was dreading going through the same experience in Sixth Form. However, observing my peers who were quite academically motivated and also teachers and parents who pushed for applying to Oxbridge and whatnot, I decided to take Lit, knowing I won't fully enjoy it, but hopefully will grow to like it given my academic capabilities.

At first, my 4 subjects didn't cause me too many problems, I treated the essays as a 'necessary evil' and did not question it further. But as the workload increased and I began doing film-related courses outside of school and other extra-curricular activities, I began to realise that I am fed up with academia and want to study a more creative field like Film.