Turn on thread page Beta

Hello....i am a yr11 student in an ordinary state school, and i wish to move to the local grammar school for sixth form. However, people keep telling me that if i go to a grammar school uni's will expect higher grades from me. Like if i wanted to get onto a BBB course i would have to have BBB, where as some1 from a normal school might be allowed a BBC or BCC. Is this true? Will more be expected of me?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Unregistered)
    Hello....i am a yr11 student in an ordinary state school, and i wish to move to the local grammar school for sixth form. However, people keep telling me that if i go to a grammar school uni's will expect higher grades from me. Like if i wanted to get onto a BBB course i would have to have BBB, where as some1 from a normal school might be allowed a BBC or BCC. Is this true? Will more be expected of me?
    Im at grammer school and Lancaster Uni asked me for BBB when the requirements are BBC.
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    Very Important Poster
    PS Reviewer
    Bristol and Edinburgh are the only 2 universities who have an official policy of taking into account your schools A level average when making offers/considering applications. Some depts in other uni's make the distinction too but it's unofficial and impossible to predict.

If you think you would be happier/do better at the grammer then it's worth going for it.

ReputationRep:
    I don't know why they would ask you for higher grades when you can get an equally proficient education at a Comprehensive.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Bigcnee)
    I don't know why they would ask you for higher grades when you can get an equally proficient education at a Comprehensive.

not always.

love Katy ***

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ickle_katy)
    not always.

love Katy ***