The Student Room Group

Will Year 14 affect university applications?

Year 12, I am studying A-Level English Literature, A-Level Media Studies and BTEC Sport + EPQ. I want to switch out Sport for A-Level Philosophy but that would mean sitting that A-Level exam separately in Year 14.

Will this severely affect my university applications?

(My goal is to study law at a Russel Group Uni)

(Bad Subject combination Ik but at first I didn’t want to go to uni and sport was a hobby)
(edited 1 month ago)
no it won't severly impact your application- you will be behind of your year but you'll have time to work on your application (get skills, work experience etc) but is this something you have actually considered? because you can do law with pretty much any subject and dont really need to switch
Reply 2
Original post by studyingsam
no it won't severly impact your application- you will be behind of your year but you'll have time to work on your application (get skills, work experience etc) but is this something you have actually considered? because you can do law with pretty much any subject and dont really need to switch

I have been considering swapping BTEC Sport for a while now. I no longer enjoy it whatsoever, the class and teachers are bad, plus it does not work well with my other subjects.

My main concern is whether starting Philosophy in Year 13 will violate a lot of universities’ resit policies, as I would have to finish each A-Level in two years (which would work out) but my total time in sixth form would be three years instead of two.