The Student Room Group

Uni dilemma

So I have received an offer from Oxford to study Classics. The thing is as much as classics fascinâtes me ( and it really does) I think deep down my passion has always been music. In terms of my music abilities and I am currently studying music A level and have done my diploma in piano, as well as grade 8 theory and grade 7 violin. I think the reason why I didn’t initially apply for music is because I didn’t know what I would do with a music degree, which is why I went with my other interest. Now on reflection I know that music has always been my passion and I don’t know what I would do without it. What should I do ?
Original post by Anonymous
So I have received an offer from Oxford to study Classics. The thing is as much as classics fascinâtes me ( and it really does) I think deep down my passion has always been music. In terms of my music abilities and I am currently studying music A level and have done my diploma in piano, as well as grade 8 theory and grade 7 violin. I think the reason why I didn’t initially apply for music is because I didn’t know what I would do with a music degree, which is why I went with my other interest. Now on reflection I know that music has always been my passion and I don’t know what I would do without it. What should I do ?

Well, the way I see it there are two paths you can take:

#1: You decide that you really really really want to study music and so, you decline your Oxford place and reapply to study music this year. If you really want to study music, it makes very little sense to study something else, even if you're studying in Oxford.