The Student Room Group

Bristol for Politics and French

Hi. I got accepted to study Politics and French but want to find out what is the language department like. Anyone studying this particular course? What is your opinion? How many contact hours do you get?
Reply 1
Original post by jolark13
Hi. I got accepted to study Politics and French but want to find out what is the language department like. Anyone studying this particular course? What is your opinion? How many contact hours do you get?

Hi, and congrats! Yes, I'm in my final year studying Politics and French at Bristol. You'll find that not a lot of people study this exact course (I know of maybe six others doing it?) so I'm quite surprised that I saw this thread :smile:

The contact hours are quite low - I can't remember how many I had in first year, but I had about eight in second year and maximum eleven this year. You're expected to be quite independent as is typical at university level, and despite the low contact hours you will still be busy as there is a lot of reading and French language preparation to do. I'd say the workload is manageable and I've rarely felt overwhelmed with too many deadlines at once, but it's still a challenging course and it's not easy to get a first. I've been happy with the majority of my lecturers though and the modules are very interesting. There is quite a lot of choice in terms of optional modules, particularly in Politics (including lots of IR-related modules). And Politics and French students can also choose not to do a dissertation which is a bonus.