The Student Room Group

Issues in Biology Exams

Hello everyone,

I am a Year 12 student studying A Level Biology. However, I think I may have an issue with writing more than is required for Biology tests / exams. At first, I didn't think much of it because I was never told off about it. However, recently, one of my Biology teachers posted a message stated that if you used additional paper during a Biology exam, then none of it would be marked. Therefore, I realised that this would severely affect me because this is what I have to do in order to get a good grade in Biology (so far). I am unable to find a balance: I find that when I write answers which are shorter (ie within the lines), I do not get all the marks because I miss out key points. Therefore, I have to write more to get full marks on a particular question. Also, I do Eduqas Biology, and I find it slightly annoying that they only provide one extra page at the back of the paper (and arguably for 4 and 5 mark questions they do not provide sufficient lines). I am really disconcerted now because I have a Biology Mock exam next Thursday and it would virtually be impossible for me to learn how to write concisely in such a short timeframe. I do not think it is worth trying (especially as I have to revise for other subjects too).

For future Biology tests / exams I may have, do any of you have advice to write more concise answers which score all the marks without being too excessive?