The Student Room Group

Career advice?

im in my final year of LLB at a RG uni but i fumbled massively by submitting one late (capped at 40%), bringing my overall down to 2.2. i might be able to scrape a 2.1 depending on my exams and coursework results but idk. im planning do an LLM in international law or commercial law (if i do well in my commercial module this year, i might but idk). does anyone have any ideas on which is more broadly employable and easier to get a first in?

after my masters, i have no clue if i even want to qualify and try working as a solicitor. plus looking long-term, the work culture and pressure just seems overwehelming.

i just want to work a respectable desk job (doesn’t have to be legal) with a reasonable starting (35k-ish) income with opportunity for promotions (earning over 50K), low pressure, low responsbitility and good work-life balance. is that even possible?

alternatively, i am only 21, so if i were to try change up career prospects nows the time to do it i guess? are there any jobs that fit the descritpion? i get that basiaclly every sector is over saturated and there are no jobs but i really dont think i can work in law for the rest of my life.
Original post by Ariag
im in my final year of LLB at a RG uni but i fumbled massively by submitting one late (capped at 40%), bringing my overall down to 2.2. i might be able to scrape a 2.1 depending on my exams and coursework results but idk. im planning do an LLM in international law or commercial law (if i do well in my commercial module this year, i might but idk). does anyone have any ideas on which is more broadly employable and easier to get a first in?
after my masters, i have no clue if i even want to qualify and try working as a solicitor. plus looking long-term, the work culture and pressure just seems overwehelming.