The Student Room Group

Fees and placement year

I am an International student. So for example, if one year cost you 20K and you enrolled for the 4year course along with a placement year. Do you need to pay the fee of 20K for that placement year to university or the 5K placement year fee is the only amount you need to pay for that year?

Pus, do you get paid for the placement year from the job institution?
Original post by riik112233
I am an International student. So for example, if one year cost you 20K and you enrolled for the 4year course along with a placement year. Do you need to pay the fee of 20K for that placement year to university or the 5K placement year fee is the only amount you need to pay for that year?

Pus, do you get paid for the placement year from the job institution?

Generally speaking, you will pay reduced fees during the placement year. Your numbers above suggest that whatever uni you're talking about charge 25% of the normal fee. That certainly sounds plausible, but will vary from uni to uni.

Not all placement years are the same. For some you will get paid, whilst for some you will not. The fact that you're an international student potentially complicates matter slightly, in terms of your right to work in the UK. However, you can usually do a work placement as part of your course even if you are not permitted to take employment.
Reply 2
Original post by DataVenia
Generally speaking, you will pay reduced fees during the placement year. Your numbers above suggest that whatever uni you're talking about charge 25% of the normal fee. That certainly sounds plausible, but will vary from uni to uni.
Not all placement years are the same. For some you will get paid, whilst for some you will not. The fact that you're an international student potentially complicates matter slightly, in terms of your right to work in the UK. However, you can usually do a work placement as part of your course even if you are not permitted to take employment.