The Student Room Group

Oxbridge Politics Masters

Hi, I’m a second-year KCL Politics student and planning to apply for Politics/IR/Diplomacy degrees at Oxbridge. But the thing is some of them require a first, and I’m not sure if I should apply for them too. My first-year grade is 71.4% (0% of the final grade) and my second-year grade will probably be around 65-67% (40% of the final grade). However, during the second year, I did several internships at some embassies and prestigious think tanks throughout the year, pretty much without any gaps between them. As for the third year (60%) I do believe I’ll do better because I won’t have that level of external commitments and in total, I believe I can at least get 68 and meet other requirements for my grade to be bumped up to first. So I guess my question is, since for masters applications you only apply with your first and second-year grades, would the latter be a problem? Thanks!
Reply 1
Original post by myt27
Hi, I’m a second-year KCL Politics student and planning to apply for Politics/IR/Diplomacy degrees at Oxbridge. But the thing is some of them require a first, and I’m not sure if I should apply for them too. My first-year grade is 71.4% (0% of the final grade) and my second-year grade will probably be around 65-67% (40% of the final grade). However, during the second year, I did several internships at some embassies and prestigious think tanks throughout the year, pretty much without any gaps between them. As for the third year (60%) I do believe I’ll do better because I won’t have that level of external commitments and in total, I believe I can at least get 68 and meet other requirements for my grade to be bumped up to first. So I guess my question is, since for masters applications you only apply with your first and second-year grades, would the latter be a problem? Thanks!