The Student Room Group

University of Birmingham Accounting and finance- my chances for Big 4

Hi I am a current year 13 student. I have received an offer of AAA to study BSC accounting and finance at the university of Birmingham. I am currently very torn about the decision between taking a gap year and accepting my offer at Birmingham.

Just wondering of my chances breaking into an Big4 accounting firms post graduation if i go to UOB and what my prospects are for future employability. id like to break into accounting but also would like to know if going to UOB for A&F gives me the flexibility to break into other fields like consulting.

Considering taking a gap year to reapply to a more prestigious university for A&F like Durham, Britstol or St Andrews. Unsure whether its worth taking a gap year to reapply or just settling with my Birmingham offer (just worried that the uni isnt good/prestigious enough and isnt well enough connected to finance industry)
checked linkedin and you will see many UOB grads get into the big 4, don't think its worth taking a gap year for.
UOB has an excellent reputation. Are you planning to do a placement 4 year degree?

If you want to move into consulting, doing the accountancy training first with any of the top 10 accountancy firms is the best move. In your position I wouldn't take a GAP year.
Original post by lindseywalsh
UOB has an excellent reputation. Are you planning to do a placement 4 year degree?
If you want to move into consulting, doing the accountancy training first with any of the top 10 accountancy firms is the best move. In your position I wouldn't take a GAP year.