The Student Room Group

Should I move out?

I am currently a first year student at university. Things at home are actually quite good, except I barely have any freedom to go out to experience 'The Uni Life' and I have very strict parents. I can't always study at home as it is quite distracting. If I move out it will be further away from uni, but not by much. I can financially support myself for the remaining 2 years, but I fear that if I move out I will not be welcomed back and I don't know what to do when I graduate as my maintenence loan will mostly pay the rent.

Could someone please give me advice?
Anon,

Perhaps you could explain to your parents that though you love being at home you would like to be able to go to the library and stay late without them worrying about what time you might get back, that you’d like to be able to return to your accommodation in between lectures without having to wait around for hours and that you’d like the opportunity to make more friends by being able to stay for more societies and events. Perhaps, you could explain that you would like to see what it’s like to live away from home for a year but that you’d like the option of moving back home for third year.

They might need time to think about it or not be happy, but at least you would have asked and explained some of your reasons. They might surprise you and be supportive, recognising that you are a young adult and need to get out more, make friends and make more of the opportunities available at university.

You might go straight into a job after university or end up travelling (you never know!) but as long as you make it clear that you are not saying that you never want to live at home again and they are able to accept you moving out (even if they are still a bit unhappy about it) then you should hopefully be able to go back home after uni you will always be their son/daughter!

All the best,

Oluwatosin 3rd year student University of Huddersfield
Reply 2