The Student Room Group

Help

I am a second year BSc physics with data science student. I am interested in becoming either a data analyst/scientist accountant or an actuarial science. I really like quant roles as I like to work with data and numbers and do coding.

I am particularly interested in accounting, how do I become one after I graduate? I know there are trainee accountant roles through which graduates complete professional exams while they work...but let's assume I get a minimum 2:1, how do I compete against accounting or finance graduates if my degree is unrelated? I know my degree is still maths heavy and I took every single maths and data science elective, but I have zero finance knowledge, which is lame if compared to an actual accounting graduate.
Reply 1
Finance recruiters actually go for STEM grads over even accountants honestly. Why accounting though? You can go on to build a solid portfolio of different financial models/projects using the data science knowledge that comes with the degree to show genuine interest and your capabilities. Put a link of it on the CV and any bank would be happy to see it. You will have to crack the technical rounds so maybe go for FRM rather than CA because it aligns really well with your quant background and it is quite high in demand. Or Actuary. There is a huge shortage of them.
(edited 1 month ago)
Reply 2
Not having an accounting degree is not an issue at all. Do make sure that you understand what accounting careers entail - both for yourself and for presenting your interest at interview.

There isn’t a lot of maths in accounting in general. The normal requirement is something like a grade B at gcse maths to give a little context.
Reply 3
Original post by ajj2000
Not having an accounting degree is not an issue at all. Do make sure that you understand what accounting careers entail - both for yourself and for presenting your interest at interview.