The Student Room Group

Masters, internship, or go straight to work? Help me decide pls!

Hi,

I'm a final year student studying BSc International Management and is graduating in 2 months. I'm still quite lost on what to do after graduation. I always thought I'd do a masters straight away, but now I think that may not be the best option.

I've always had a hard time deciding what career path to take and still do. I'm leaning towards marketing but I still have doubts as I do not concretely know what a marketing job actually looks like. I feel like the theory I learnt about marketing throughout my course actually differs quite a lot with the actual duties of a marketing role. Throughout my degree I have not done any internships, which I do regret a lot, but considering my position now I reckon getting work experience before doing a masters might be a smarter choice, so I can have a clearer idea of what I enjoy the most (and if I'd even enjoy marketing) and then apply for a masters.

Right now I think I'm leaning more towards taking a gap year to secure some internships before applying for a masters. I've heard that internships are hard to secure after graduating as companies prefer those still in uni, is that true? Ideally I'm trying to secure 2 6-month internships before applying for my masters next year, would this be feasible? Another option would be to directly apply to entry-level jobs but I'm scared I might not go back to studying.

What should I do? Is taking a gap year to do internships before a masters a good route to take? I'm so overwhelmed and stressed out, I know so little about the professional world and just feel so lost about what would be the right choice. I'm scared of making the wrong decision and have negative consequences on my future. Any help is appreciated! Thanks!
Original post by crushmeii
Hi,