The Student Room Group

how much do you spend a week excluding bills

Hey!
I'm a fellow first year student for '24 fall and i was wondering how much the average student spends per week at uni excluding your bills (e.g. rent, water, etc).
Original post by Anonymous
Hey!
I'm a fellow first year student for '24 fall and i was wondering how much the average student spends per week at uni excluding your bills (e.g. rent, water, etc).

Good evening @Anonymous,

I am a first-year Student at the University of Reading. First of all, congratulations on your university offer!

I typically spend around £45 on food, £8 on public transport to get to the shops for food or essentials, £5 for the occasional stationary items and around £10-20 on social activities. Therefore, £68- £78 weekly. However, I do know many students who spend less on food and do not use public transport, so you could reduce this to around £50 a week.

It all depends on your hobbies. If you plan on going out with friends more than once a week, you will want to have a little extra money to do this. Simialrly, society and sports memberships tend to be annually (yearly), so you may want to factor this into your budget for the year.

I hope this helps, if you have any further questions please do ask.

Many thanks,
Ella 😄

1st year Ecology and Wildlife Conservation.
Reply 2
Original post by UniofReading
Good evening @Anonymous,
I am a first-year Student at the University of Reading. First of all, congratulations on your university offer!
I typically spend around £45 on food, £8 on public transport to get to the shops for food or essentials, £5 for the occasional stationary items and around £10-20 on social activities. Therefore, £68- £78 weekly. However, I do know many students who spend less on food and do not use public transport, so you could reduce this to around £50 a week.