The Student Room Group

Family problems...

I'm a full-time university student, I've been attending counselling the university has given me to deal with my own issues. After attending for a while I had a break through and realised my family was dysfunctional. I hate the fact I finally realised through counselling, as I lost many friends over the years who kept telling me that my family was dysfunctional and I needed to cut contact for my own good.

Well, yesterday, it finally happened. My siblings and I got into a massvie argument over politics. I don't want to bring politics up but my sister's are labour supporters whereas I'm a conservative. You can tell we disagree on a lot of stuff. I personally don't care what political party you are from, I would love a civil debate with everybody and find some common ground. I won't call you names because you support a different political party.

My sister kept calling me pathetic and stupid for being a tory, I kept asking why, polietly. I always asked "why am I pathetic and stupid for being a tory?" My sister would never answer and continued to repeat it. It led to a full blown on argument. She said hurtful things that I can never forgive nor forget. She said I'm a danger to my nephew, She told me she wouldn't ever let me be alone with my nephew as I'm a tory. I finally cut them off.

I live alone and one of my sister's who's autistic has been trying to move back in with me and I won't allow it. They said hurtul things I can't forget or forgive, I don't hate them, I wish them well for the future.
But, again I cut of my entire family. I deleted all social media profiles and changed my phone number yesterday afternoon. I'm trying to search for a new place, I'm looking to move closer to university, it's still moving nearer to them as it's a 20-minute drive from their house, but they won't know where I live and I'll be avoiding entering their county.