The Student Room Group

Chemistry a level transition metals question (please help me)

Question:
A sample of solid chromium(III) hydroxide displays amphoteric character when treated separately with dilute HCl and with dilute aqueous NaOH. Write and ionic equation for each of these reactions. include the formula of each complex ion formed. Describe the changes that would observe in each reaction (5)
Mark scheme:
1.Cr(OH)3 + 3H2O + 3H+ [cr(h2o)6]3+
2.Green / grey−green solid
3.Forms green / purple / ruby / violet solution
4.Cr(OH)3 + 2H2O + OH− [cr(h2o)2(oh)4]
5.Forms green solution

Please explain the ionic equations
(edited 1 month ago)
are you a level or gcse????
Reply 2
Original post by AnVeryBigIdiot
are you a level or gcse????

aqa a level chemistry (year 13)
Original post by vvwestwood
aqa a level chemistry (year 13)

oh sorry im only a gcse student (i was thinking that looked a bit too difficult lol)
Reply 4
Original post by AnVeryBigIdiot
oh sorry im only a gcse student (i was thinking that looked a bit too difficult lol)

np. thanks anyways
Reply 5
If you dissolve Cr(OH)3 in water then you should get [Cr(H2O)3(OH)3]? Then that is protonated to make [Cr(H2O)6]3+.
And vice-versa for NaOH. That's how I understand it =)
Reply 6
I understand the first one now thank you.
But for the reaction with NaOH, i dont understand why it reacts with 2H20 and just one OH-. Is it something to do with the symmetry of the complex? Like for example whats stopping Cr(OH)3 reacting with 3OH- to make [Cr(OH)6]3-
Reply 7
I understand the first one now thank you.
But for the reaction with NaOH, i dont understand why it reacts with 2H20 and just one OH-. Is it something to do with the symmetry of the complex? Like for example whats stopping Cr(OH)3 reacting with 3OH- to make [Cr(OH)6]3-

I would have also guessed that that would be what it forms... is there no mention of it in the MS?

But I'm not 100% sure. Also, I don't think reactions of chromium complexes are in the aqa spec?