The Student Room Group

EPQ or AS further maths

I am a first year student in college. I am doing Maths, computer science and IT A levels. I finished my IT course and since I am a full time student i need to pick another subject in September. I prefer doing course work and project so that's why I think EPQ is good to do; I will finish it by march and then I can focus on my A levels to get high grades. However, Further maths might help me with my maths A level as well but the facts that I will have 10 hours of maths per week and it is exam based make me feel it would be risky. I would like to do computer science in uni. So any suggestions would be appreciated.
Original post by c'est moi rosie
I am a first year student in college. I am doing Maths, computer science and IT A levels. I finished my IT course and since I am a full time student i need to pick another subject in September. I prefer doing course work and project so that's why I think EPQ is good to do; I will finish it by march and then I can focus on my A levels to get high grades. However, Further maths might help me with my maths A level as well but the facts that I will have 10 hours of maths per week and it is exam based make me feel it would be risky. I would like to do computer science in uni. So any suggestions would be appreciated.
For computer science in uni I would check the course specific requirements. a few unis have further maths compulsory (though this is more likely to be true for a joint in Maths and Computer Science), while some recommend it at least to AS level (e.g Oxbridge).

Most don’t require it at all, only requiring A-level maths.