The Student Room Group

Y13 summer before uni

I'm in y13 currently doing my A-Levels and I just needed advice on what to do this summer so I don't end up rotting in my room doing nothing.

I want to do law at QMUL - should I learn anything in advance or get work experience this summer before uni starts?

What else should I do? I would appreciate some advice from current uni students, law students or not.

Original post by julianjoy
I'm in y13 currently doing my A-Levels and I just needed advice on what to do this summer so I don't end up rotting in my room doing nothing.
I want to do law at QMUL - should I learn anything in advance or get work experience this summer before uni starts?
What else should I do? I would appreciate some advice from current uni students, law students or not.

Hi, I'm a y12 student, so not quite what you were after, but I intend to spend the summer between y13 and uni spending time with family, friends, and doing my favourite things and days out nearby - make the most before i have to move away for uni. Just enjoy it. Maybe do a little reading etc for your course, but most importantly just enjoy the life you got now. Just do what you love - spend time with family, do your favourite hobbies, go out with your friends, go for walks etc. Make tye most of a nice long summer before you get busy with uni.

Hi there

It is great that you are looking at plans during summer holidays. 🙂 If you are looking at entering a law career, getting some work experience can be a good idea. I was able to secure volunteering opportunities by writing to local firms- I think these look very good on your CV, and firms do look at these too. 🙂 However, many employers understand that law opportunities are quite difficult to acquire, so do not worry too much if you cannot find anything legal related. Instead, other non-legal work experiences allow you to gain transferrable skills that are really helpful too.