The Student Room Group

should i do RS (WJEC) or Sociology (AQA) A-level

I really want to do law at uni and my two other a levels are: English Literature and Law.

I am hoping to get into top unis and i am torn between RS and sociology for my a levels. I have never done either before at GCSE level but i initially put down philosophy/RS on my college application and now i’m second guessing myself as i was told RS was philosophy and upon further research im finding it isn’t.

does anyone know if unis look at an RS a level and know it’s philosophy or should i just go with sociology??

Furthermore, is sociology respected? I am worried about the fact it is seen as an ‘easier’ a level but it still seems really interesting.

On the other hand, RS worries me as i am not extremely religious and into discussing religion but i do enjoy philosophical discussion and ethical debate…

Please if anyone could help that would be amazing!! thank you in advance!!
Original post by Han.oth
I really want to do law at uni and my two other a levels are: English Literature and Law.
I am hoping to get into top unis and i am torn between RS and sociology for my a levels. I have never done either before at GCSE level but i initially put down philosophy/RS on my college application and now i’m second guessing myself as i was told RS was philosophy and upon further research im finding it isn’t.
does anyone know if unis look at an RS a level and know it’s philosophy or should i just go with sociology??
Furthermore, is sociology respected? I am worried about the fact it is seen as an ‘easier’ a level but it still seems really interesting.
On the other hand, RS worries me as i am not extremely religious and into discussing religion but i do enjoy philosophical discussion and ethical debate…

i say go with sociology, it goes better with law and if your school does aqa there would be a lot more study resources than wjec