The Student Room Group

advice on picking uni course

i’m an S6 student now studying AH Maths, Chemistry, Physics & H Human Bio. i’ve always loved all three subjects, in higher physics the topics i was most interested in is particle physics, as well as some of the electricity uni about semi conductors, junctions etc. In maths my favourite part is calculus, and chemistry my favourite topics are physical chemistry i.e orbitals, electronic configuration etc

my problem is that when ucas applications start in a couple months i cant decide what i want to apply for, my current considerations are Maths, Mathematical Physics, Chemical Physics, and Chemical engineering. if i was to pick one of the sciences or maths i dont know yet what Id like to do as a career, so hence why im considering chemical engineering as it incorporates the three and has very solid career options, for a while ive thought id be interested to go into some sort of climate work such as sustainable energy, or like mathematical modelling of climate things

can anyone who has maybe had similar thoughts give some advice, or anyone studying these degrees tell me what they enjoy about the courses
Original post by jacgr
i’m an S6 student now studying AH Maths, Chemistry, Physics & H Human Bio. i’ve always loved all three subjects, in higher physics the topics i was most interested in is particle physics, as well as some of the electricity uni about semi conductors, junctions etc. In maths my favourite part is calculus, and chemistry my favourite topics are physical chemistry i.e orbitals, electronic configuration etc