The Student Room Group

Need some advice and on which university to apply to

Deleted
(edited 4 weeks ago)
Reply 1
Original post by Simeon12
Hi,
I’m a 22-year-old mature student aiming to get into Oxford, Cambridge, or UCL. I’m seeking advice on which university I might have a better chance of receiving an offer from based on my academic background.
Here’s a bit of my story: I moved to the UK at the age of 13 without any knowledge of English. Due to the language barrier, I couldn’t pass my GCSEs. I then enrolled in a BTEC course in college but dropped out after a year as it wasn’t the right fit for me. After a few years of working various jobs, I decided to pursue higher education. I studied independently and took my A-levels and GCSEs at a private exam center.
These are the grades I achieved:
A-levels: Maths: A*, Further Maths: A, Computer Science: A*
GCSEs: Maths: 6, English Language: 7 (Note: I completed my GCSEs before my A-levels)
I only have two GCSEs, which I assume might affect my chances of getting into a top university. Additionally, I’m curious about whether being self-taught will impact how universities view my application and if it will decrease my chances of receiving an offer.