The Student Room Group

Will SFE fund a top up degree if I have an ordinary degree?

I have an ordinary degree, which is 300 credits - to get a honours degree I would need 360 credits. I have a Ba Hons in Economics and Management, I failed my final year and I used my gift year, therefore SFE funded my degree for 3 years + gift year = 4 years. (In my gift year, SFE funded 60 credits only out of 120 credits as a I repeated 2 modules only = 40 + 20 = 60 credits) and I got a full maintenance loan as the modules were spread in two semesters.

I want to apply for a top up degree in accounting and finance to get a honours degree which is a 1 year course. The course is 120 credits long but I would need to complete 60 credits to get a honours degree. I hope that the university will let me do that, Im waiting for their response.

Will student finance fund a top up course for me? I’ve rang student finance and they said that it’s a different degree and that I will be eligible for funding, and they also said that I’m still eligible for UG funding for 2 years (I have told them that I used my gift year). Is this true? I just want to double check. I’ve also just read that funding for a top up degree is only available for part time students, I’m confused.
(edited 4 weeks ago)
Hi there. Top up degrees can be full time and part time. The amount of funding you have will depend on the course. Can you confirm the full name of the new course and university? Will the new course be full time or part time? How many years will it be? When does the new course start? Thanks, Leah.
Reply 2
Original post by Leah SLC
Hi there. Top up degrees can be full time and part time. The amount of funding you have will depend on the course. Can you confirm the full name of the new course and university? Will the new course be full time or part time? How many years will it be? When does the new course start? Thanks, Leah.