The Student Room Group

Ecology or Zoology

I'm about to go to university this September and am currently signed up to do Ecology and Conservation Biology but I am tempted to switch to Zoology because I have a specific interest in animals. However, I recently heard that Zoology is considered 'less of a science' in the biology world. Has anyone done either of these courses at university or have any advice on the matter?
Original post by babbles456
I'm about to go to university this September and am currently signed up to do Ecology and Conservation Biology but I am tempted to switch to Zoology because I have a specific interest in animals. However, I recently heard that Zoology is considered 'less of a science' in the biology world. Has anyone done either of these courses at university or have any advice on the matter?

Good evening @babbles456 ,

I am currently studying Bsc Ecology and Wildlife Conservation. So far, we have learned various materials, such as genetics, statistics, graph making, surveying techniques, identifying conifers, reintroducing species, and local pollarding management techniques.

The Ecology and Wildlife Conservation degree includes a range of laboratory sessions, field trips, lectures, guest speakers, career fairs, and more. This all aids our learning and makes the degree accessible to everyone. Each student has a different way of learning, and at Reading University, everybody is included and accommodated.

The course must have 120 credits; this year, the credits had 10 credit modules, such as the Animal Diversity module. However, from the 2024-2025 academic year, the University of Reading is moving to a semester system, so all modules will be 20 credits.