The Student Room Group

Can I apply to a different course at the uni i am currrently at through clearing?

Im in first year right now and i want to change my course to a completely different one next year, and so start from year 1 again.

My uni has normally requires you to contact department and fill in a change of course form, however, my grades are slightly below the A-Level requirements so the student support officer of the department said they cannot consider me for a change of course.

However, as my uni is not the most competitive many students get onto the course with 1 or 2 grades below the requirements.

This is shown by the UCAS Hub which shows the average grade held by students is below the requirements which happens to be my grades as well. I also looked at freedom of information data on 'whatdotheyknow' which shows that many people have entered through clearing with my grades. I personally have a few friends on the course with my grades, and all of them are 1 or 2 grades below.

So... does anyone know if it would be possible for me to try apply through clearing, although i am already at the uni? Though if its not possible i may just apply to a lower ranked uni
(edited 1 month ago)
If they wont consider you because of your grades, then Clearing isnt a sneaky way of getting round this.

The 'average grade on acceptance' is totally misleading as it includes those with Contextual offers, mitigating circumstances etc - it doesnt mean that you can get accepted for that course with those grades.
Do you have a 2024 cycle ucas application?

You would be better off pushing for an internal transfer than paying for a new ucas application
Reply 3
Original post by McGinger
If they wont consider you because of your grades, then Clearing isnt a sneaky way of getting round this.