The Student Room Group

Do grades improve in third year?

I am currently a student at the University of Liverpool. At my uni the overall classification awarded is based on 30% second year and 70% third year. I’ve had a really difficult second year due to a major injury and surgery which impacted me greatly both physically and mentally. I missed an exam worth 40% of one of my modules as it was on the same day as my surgery. I have been granted extenuating circumstances for this and another assignment and will be ‘sitting to improve’ this summer. I suspect after these re-sits I will have a borderline 2.1 for the year. I’m hoping I can do well in third year and solidify this 2.1. I’ve picked modules more suited to me and was wondering if grades generally improve for students between second and third year? What do the statistics and your own personal experience suggest? Thanks
Original post by Georgebuckley47
I am currently a student at the University of Liverpool. At my uni the overall classification awarded is based on 30% second year and 70% third year. I’ve had a really difficult second year due to a major injury and surgery which impacted me greatly both physically and mentally. I missed an exam worth 40% of one of my modules as it was on the same day as my surgery. I have been granted extenuating circumstances for this and another assignment and will be ‘sitting to improve’ this summer. I suspect after these re-sits I will have a borderline 2.1 for the year. I’m hoping I can do well in third year and solidify this 2.1. I’ve picked modules more suited to me and was wondering if grades generally improve for students between second and third year? What do the statistics and your own personal experience suggest? Thanks

Hey,

Sorry to hear about your tough second year, but it's great that you've been granted extenuating circumstances and have the opportunity to improve this summer.