The Student Room Group

Is accommodation as claustrophobic & overwhelming as it seems?

Hello there. I'm a year 12 student who's probably going to be applying to universities this summer. I've been looking at various accommodations from a variety of universities and I'd like some insight. For some extra information, I've looked at accommodations at Exeter, Royal Holloway, and Imperial College London, however I have quite a few more universities I'm looking at and will research more.

For the sake of finances, I will likely need to get a small single room with a shared bathroom (which I am not sure I'm comfortable with, I'm quite overly-hygienic). More specifically, the cheapest thing available that is still comfortable enough. I am generally uncomfortable with the idea of being around so many people constantly and only having a claustrophobic room to escape it. Of course, I will be in some sort of student accommodation, but I am fairly nervous about my day to day life.

So, students currently in an accommodation, is it livable? Do you get used to it after being there for a while or is it as cramped/overwhelming as it seems? Is there anything you would tell a new student to best settle into their new home?

I would appreciate any information on daily life in accommodations (at any UK university). I'd like to prepare the best I can. Thank you so much!
Original post by MarinaKat
Hello there. I'm a year 12 student who's probably going to be applying to universities this summer. I've been looking at various accommodations from a variety of universities and I'd like some insight. For some extra information, I've looked at accommodations at Exeter, Royal Holloway, and Imperial College London, however I have quite a few more universities I'm looking at and will research more.