Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    The heating in my room is broken so I am using a portable heater and I wanted to know how safe it was to leave it on overnight (Obviously I won't be covering it.). I don't want to be burned to death! :eek:
    I've never used one before!

ReputationRep:
    should be safe unless its a really old one

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by blissy)
    The heating in my room is broken so I am using a portable heater and I wanted to know how safe it was to leave it on overnight (Obviously I won't be covering it.). I don't want to be burned to death! :eek:
    I have a portable heater in my room and it is safe to keep on for long periods without anything happening, but I don't actually use it whilst I am in bed.

it should have a thermal overload on it. if it does then it will siwtch off before it gets hot enough to cause a fire

and whats wrong with the heating?
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    PS Reviewer
    Make sure it's well away from everything else in the room so that something doesnt fall on it and start a fire.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by juno_the)
    Make sure it's well away from everything else in the room so that something doesnt fall on it and start a fire.
    tru, you better tuck those petrol cans away

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by andrew2022)
    it should have a thermal overload on it. if it does then it will siwtch off before it gets hot enough to cause a fire

and whats wrong with the heating?
    Usually have underfloor heating but there's a notice in the hall saying it's being fixed over the weekend. We all have these funny little heaters in our room anyway in case we get cold (which is funny really because the room is so hot from the underfloor heating that I have to keep my window open all the time and wear very few layers even in the middle of winter)