This discussion is closed.
-=flyboy=-
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 17 years ago
Hi all,
Was reading a thread last night concerning becoming an RAF Fighter Pilot and the response was incredible. I also replid to it and noticed that several professional pilots had added comments.

I am not set on becoming a fighter pilot, I am aiming for the commercial industry and would like to find out as much as possible about getting there. At the moment I am flying gliders at a local club and absorbing information from pilots there. I am also in my final year of A-levels (English, Maths and Physics) and I am hoping to go to University next year to do Aeronautical Systems Engineering. If anyone can offer me advice on interviews for airlines, how to go about getting a job after doing my degree etc, I would be greatly appreciative!

I am also on Messenger so if anyone wants to talk my address is:

[email protected]

Thanks very much

David Colgate
Advertisement
Wzz
  • CV Helper
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 17 years ago
Hi David

The commercial world is a difficult one to break into. Advice for interviews with airlines isn't hard to come by (check out the "Wannabes" forum on www.pprune.org, for example), the hardest thing is getting an interview in the first place.

The problem you'll face is that the commercial flying world is quite crowded. There are a lot of guys out there with CPLs and ATPLs (Commercial Pilots Licences and Air Transport Pilots Licences; you need an ATPL to fly for an airline) who aren't working. Airlines tend to advertise for and interview pilots who already have an ATPL and a couple of hundered hours on something like 737s or A300s. If they took someone with no flying experience, they'd need to train them up; the cost of putting someone through a PPL, then a night rating, instrument rating, CPL then ATPL is incredible; probably in the region of £40 000.