Turn on thread page Beta

Choice between three unis: help me please!!!!!!! watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi everybody!!!! I'm a French student (don't boo me please lol) and I've received offers from Aberystwyth, Aberdeen, Royal Holloway, Reading and Queen Mary UL, for a Politics and International Relations degree. But I'm bloody hesitating between Aberystwyth, Royal Holloway and Reading.
    The first seems to have an outstanding Politics department, the second has an overall reputation of excellence, is close to London Town and the airports (practical when you live in Bordeaux) and I've heard the last was a great deal... So please I need a WIDE WIDE help!!!!! What would you chose? Thanks

ReputationRep:
    I don't know much about that course, but I live in Reading, so if you want any info on the town rather than the uni, let me know.

ReputationRep:
    I live near Reading too. Out of the three you mentioned, I'd say that RH and Reading have the better reputations, but I don't know how important you think that is. Reading is a much livelier place. Aber is a small town, as is Egham (where RH is). Reading is a really nice campus, a good Students Union and the town is good for shopping! And you get get a train direct to London in about 30 mins. Go to Reading!

ReputationRep:
    i have the wonderfully biased position of studying History and IR at Reading

the IR side for me also includes modules in modern politics to give you some "good foundations" as the department puts it.

lets start with some links:

http://www.spirs.rdg.ac.uk/Politics/index.html :mainly prospective student info ad introduction to department.

http://www.rdg.ac.uk/AcaDepts/lp/PolIR/ :er it seems not to be working very well atm, but is where they post more detailed info.