Turn on thread page Beta

At university, do school grades become insignificant? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    At the moment I'm in my first year of 6th form, and although GCSE's no longer feel that important, it still niggles at me, and a lot of my friends have the same feeling.

So I'm just wondering, once you begin your degree course at university, do school grades (GCSE's, A-levels etc) become a thing of the past? Or is it still quite talked about?

Well, if you get onto the course, why would you care?

ReputationRep:
    Nobody really talks about them.

Your GCSEs will never matter much again, A levels will come up to be relevant if you look for graduate jobs. I think your A levels tend to stay with you but GCSEs just disappear into irrelevance.

ReputationRep:
    Apparently not. In fresher's week here, a guy doing Law asked me what the entry requirements were for my course. He started bragging about his five A-levels, and I was like 'oh yeah, I only did three but I got AAA ' The reply I got was:

'If you got three As, why aren't you doing something BETTER?!' ... and he turned his attention elsewhere.

Come to think of it, with an attitude like that, he's probably on TSR reading this right now. ¬_¬

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by 73337)
    Well, if you get onto the course, why would you care?
    This

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by JocastaJackal)
    Apparently not. In fresher's week here, a guy doing Law asked me what the entry requirements were for my course. He started bragging about his five A-levels, and I was like 'oh yeah, I only did three but I got AAA ' The reply I got was:

'If you got three As, why aren't you doing something BETTER?!' ... and he turned his attention elsewhere.

Come to think of it, with an attitude like that, he's probably on TSR reading this right now. ¬_¬
    When I go to uni I hope never to encounter such *****.

ReputationRep: