Turn on thread page Beta

Retail the worst job in the world watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I was told by a careers advisor that retail is something one would want to avoid as a full time career.

What do you think? What are your opinions on retail? Is it really THAT bad?

ReputationRep:
    nah, you get a discount!

ReputationRep:
    Well depends on the company. I work in retail and its gots it good and bad day. It is one of those, you either love it or hate it, its not for everyone. Look at some companies like M&S, JL they have good graduate schemes

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Big Kabz)
    Personally, it's not for me - I couldn't handle it as a full-time position.

ReputationRep:
    I couldn't do it forever. It's booooring. And your job satisfaction relies on customers, never a good thing.

ReputationRep:
    it depends where you work, as others have said.

I dont think i'd be able to do it for a career as sometimes i'm just not in the mood to be nice to everyone!

Its a good career though - plenty of chances for training and promotions!

ReputationRep:
    Like someone else said, it has it's good and bad days. More bad atm! Not as a full time career though, I could never do it full time. I admire those who have the knack to do it as a career!

ReputationRep:
    Yeah it's awful. Always the same, sometimes stressful, sometimes boring. I hate it.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Big Kabz)
    I was told by a careers advisor that retail is something one would want to avoid as a full time career.

It is not. There are many careers in retail apart from the sale advisors you see at the tills. There are retail merchandisers, buyers, visual merchandisers, PRs, management, human resources. So thats her opinion but shes a careers advisor she's supposed to advise. What kind of career service is that!
    • CV Helper

ReputationRep:
    CV Helper
    (Original post by suicidal_dream)
    it depends where you work, as others have said.