How competitive is Durham's CompSci taught postgrad? Watch

kimgan
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 9 years ago
i've asked a fairly similar question elsewhere in TSR, but i didn't get any response, so thought i'd try here instead.

pretty keen on applying to the MSc in Internet Systems and eBusiness as the course structure sounds interesting & right up my alley interest wise.

but i'd like to know how competitive is the Computer Science postgrad courses to get into and if they give any leeway for the minimum requirement as i have an Aussie bachelor's degree & they don't practice degree grading - it's an additional 4th year of study to get an honours degree, which you can only apply for & do after you graduate with the bachelor's degree.

i was thinking i'd send in my application anyway & see how it pans out. would this be a wise move? the admissions person i have been emailing asked for "a 2i (or distinction)". i believe i do meet this requirement, if not at least a 2ii as my grades are mostly in the 70% region with a couple in the 60% & 80% regions respectively.

& what's the chances that postgrads get into the college they apply for if it's not Ustinov? cos after looking thru, i'd like to put St Chad's as my college preference. :p:
Stacy_T
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago
Best thing to do is email the department. I'm sure they have various rules for international qualifications so they'll be able to give you the straightest answer. In the FAQs, it looks like the course probably attracts alot of overseas candidates anyway so you may not necessarily be at a disadvantage.

Good luck!
Nicholas Urfe
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago
(Original post by kimgan)
i've asked a fairly similar question elsewhere in TSR, but i didn't get any response, so thought i'd try here instead.

pretty keen on applying to the MSc in Internet Systems and eBusiness as the course structure sounds interesting & right up my alley interest wise.