Turn on thread page Beta

Anyone else have Doc appointment troubles? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Well, i managed to get an appointment but i realised i cant make it cause im at uni (last time i was absent they said id been off for 18 hours...when id only been gone two...and i had told them when i was back and such) and plus i dont want to eat into my 15 days before i have to make up the time at the end of my course...im a student nurse and i have to do so many hours.

Anyway...my mum tried to get one for me while she was trying to get one and they said it would be TWO WEEKS before i could see anyone....now normally its two weeks to see your own GP...sometimes 3, but to see any doctor its usually less than a week...not now tho :mad:

Its absurd, i mean yeah if its serious you can go to out of hours etc, but say for example, my cousin who had seen a doctor about abdominal pain...might seem simple; the doctors didnt seem concerned....turned out he has chrone's (spelling?) disease and he had to have surgery and the consultant told him if it had been left any longer then he would have died.

So something like that could happen; an illness or ailment which appears to be trivial but you still want it checked and you cant see a doctor.

So anyone else had to wait this long to see a doctor...or longer?

ReputationRep:
    If it's that serious miss Uni. If not wait 2 weeks.

No I don't have to wait that long because my GP works on a 48 hr rule- where I can see a doc within 48hrs (most GPs do this now).

ReputationRep:
    There is a centrally set GP access target of 48 hours.