This discussion is closed.
bscman
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 12 years ago
hi guys,

probably gonna get flamed for this,

i'm having massive problems with my dissertation (balanced scorecard), i decided to use secondary data antd analyse it, my dissertation supervisor doesnt like the idea unless i can find 2 similar sets of data and compare them,

i was thinking, if i created a questionnaire and went down that route, do you think it would be possible to make up the data by making it similar to other data with a bit of a variance,

how would the uni know, i havnt got much time and need to get this sorted, im on for a 2:1 in everything else but this could screw up my degree.
anon53
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report 12 years ago
If you could think of no alternative, then the decision is yours. However, at my university, falsification of data is a number of very serious offences under the university's code of practice on the use of unfair means. I am studying an arts subject and haven't reached the final year, but there is a requirement to demonstrate a broad knowledge of both primary and secondary sources in far more detail than most taught modules. Hope this helps
philjw
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 12 years ago
No, no, no, no, no! :no:

Don't even go there - Academic integrity is essential.
There are also statistical auditing techniques that can detect 'made-up' results and patterns.
bscman
(Original post by philjw)
No, no, no, no, no! :no:

Don't even go there - Academic integrity is essential.
There are also statistical auditing techniques that can detect 'made-up' results and patterns.
i understand what your saying but i have no idea what to do, if i could find just 2 journals which use simlar data so i could compare i wouldnt even be thinking of this, my dissertation supervisor is a complete idiot and is no help. last time i emailed him it too a month to get a reply.

im pulling my hair out here, it has to be handed in in the first week in may.
ancientone
Badges: 8
Rep:
?