Turn on thread page Beta

How to cope with the death of my mother watch

Announcements

Anon please.

My mother went missing on the 7th of January. I thought she went to relatives, but nobody in my family had any contact with her. Because she is mentally ill (depression), we thought we should contact the police.

Up until yesterday we had no news whatsoever about her. Yesterday we read the newspaper. A woman's body had been found in Hove near Brighton on the 12th of January. Because the authorities couldn't find her relatives (us) they had to bury her. The newspaper had pictures of the jewellery she was wearing in an effort for someone to recognise her. We did. We will try to get her re-buried here in London where we live.

She lived a sad life. No matter what we did, we couldn't cheer her up. She had only one way to get rid of her pain.

Please, anyone who has lost family, give me some advice on how to cope. I'm an AS-level student and I hope, despite what has happened, to still be able to achieve good marks.

ReputationRep:
    That is a terrible situation to be in and have to deal with. The one thing i will say is take your time, you dont have to grieve or get over her death in any way other then one that you think works for you, it will take time and to lose your mum is going to be hard. No one has expectations of you and how you need to act, thats the main thing, grief is a personal thing. Just take your time and it will get better. As for exams, you can only do your best.

ReputationRep:
    I'm very sorry to hear this.

Spend time with your family. Try and find a bereavement counsellor.

You might find this a useful site, it helps people in your situation:

http://www.crusebereavementcare.org.uk/

ReputationRep:
    I am so sorry OP No-one should have to go through that especially at your age.