Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I was wondering if anyone could offer some advice for medicine.I am studying Bio,Chem,Phy,Maths,History at AS. Between Brasenose, Christ Church, New and Magdalen which college is the ''best'' if I was defining by ''best'' college on;

1. Accomodation (largest available!!)
    2.Prestige for medicine/science
    3. A medium or large undergraduate body
    4.Facilities avialable (not too bothered about music, more just general facilities)
    5. Large sciencey/medical undergrad. numbers

Many Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    Reading the prospectus/website will give you the majority of those answers!
    Start practising those literature search/evidence based skills. :p:

1) When you say largest - do you mean number of students accommodated/years guaranteed or biggest rooms? Former it should definitely say, short of commissioning a study good luck finding a consensus about the latter anywhere...
    3) & 5) Pretty sure I've seen tables of those
    4) Normally in a prose description section

Or just apply to Magdalen or New because I say they are better.

ReputationRep:
    I heard Magdalen freshers have to share rooms in there first year...so don't apply there if you want your own room! That might be an untrue rumour though...I expect the website will say more.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Jenii)
    I heard Magdalen freshers have to share rooms in there first year...so don't apply there if you want your own room! That might be an untrue rumour though...I expect the website will say more.
    It's far worse than that actually. Magdalen freshers are packed into tiny rooms with bunks stacked 3 high and are supervised until 10pm every night to make sure they work hard enough. There's also only one shower between 25 people.

On a more accurate note, no one at Magdalen shares a room.

ReputationRep:
    ^however, christ church only supply sleeping bags and tarpaulin.

ReputationRep: