I can't pass this Foundation Year :-( Watch

The Procrastinator
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 9 years ago
God help me, why the feck did I choose Chemistry??
I was doing Biology and Chemistry foundation year but I'm not very good at the Chemistry because of the Maths that is involved. Anyway I changed to Biology and English at the start of this year. I had failed my Chemistry exam and a bit of work...but I have to redo it and PASS even though I am not doing it anymore ;-( Whatever little Chemistry I did learn has completly evaporated from my mind and I just don't want to do it. I thought I could just swap courses and everything will be fine.

Has anyone else had this experience on a Foundation Year??

Also say I have to redo this Foundation Year, I would be on my second year of government funding, leaving 3 years left so I wouldn't be able to mess up the proper degree. This worries me alot because I wouldn't have the money to suppost myself through uni. Do Foundation Year people get extra funding becasue of the extra year they do??

Please any advice is welcome
The Procrastinator
Rep:
?
Anyone??
xxxchrisxxx
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago
why dont you get in touch with your personal tutor and tell him you need help with the coming chemistry exam and ask if there is someone, like a postgrad, who could help you study the material?

correct me if im wrong but foundation year chemistry probably covers the same basic stuff as that in gcse or A level. maybe you could grab a few gcse/ A level chemistry books as they explain them in a less daunting way. ask for past papers and put the information in the context of the exam.

shift your focus from failing/repeating the year to relearning what you need to know for the time being.
Xang Lee
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago
It says on your profile that you've attended three different university courses? And now you're considering repeating a year?

Do you honestly expect tax payers to fund you even further?