The Student Room Group

Law exam tips

I am a first year undergraduate student and I feel there's far more to remember for law exams than GCSEs or A levels and I just wanted to know if anyone has any tips for remembering the vast volume of cases and doctrines. I keep forgetting everything I've read before and though I've been revising for 2,3 weeks I feel I've gained very little.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I'd also be interested in this - I'm only in A-levels but having to hold large sums of info seems a problem for me for some reason
Focus on principle/understanding first, then cases - not the other way around
Reply 3
I'd echo what jacketpotato said - you will always be taught, and there will always be, more cases than it is (in my opinion) possible to learn. So long as you have the concepts down (i.e. you know how to approach a problem and can make a good bash at it) and the *key* cases (these will be apparant for each area of law) then you should do OK.

OP, I can sympathise with you entirely -- this is a subject where there are vast swathes of information to memorise, with no particularly easy way to go about it... I too have also been working through the material for a month or so, and don't feel as if I can particularly recall anything 'off pat'. My only advice would be, continue immersing yourself in your notes and writing and re-writing them, and it will go in. If all else fails, this is your first year, which means that so long as you pass it should have no effect on your final degree - take it as an opportunity to learn from your 'mistakes'.

I can already see that next year I will start looking and creating notes a term earlier than I did this year, so I am just trying to be positive, do my best, and take whatever comes as a learning experience.