Turn on thread page Beta

University Marking System - Is This True? watch

ReputationRep:
    A friend of mine who is currently at University said that the marking system grade boundaries (Hons, 2:1 etc...) is based upon how well you do against others in your year over the duration of the course. This is opposed to a system where the boundaries are set i.e. the driving theory test where you need 30 or over to pass out of 35 (or you did when I took it).

Is this true and if so I can see logic in perhaps going to a slightly less acclaimed (but still credible) University as you would be up against people who supposably have less academic ability. This should theoretically get you a better chance of coming out with a good degree albeit from a slightly less acclaimed establishment.

I.E. I have chosen to study Law and if I studied at Hull or Lancaster (still credible red brick uni's) I should theoretially have a better chance of a good grade compared to say if I went to Leeds or Nottingham as the others on my course may not be the "academic elite" I would encounter at the latter Universities.

Is this so?

ReputationRep:
    As far as I know, classes are decided by percentages. At least that's what my supervisor told me. I think specific boundaries are adjusted yearly depending on how hard papers are, etc., but as I'm on a modular/ coursework course that doesn't really apply.

ReputationRep:
    Not at either of the unis I've been to. The grades are decided by percentages.

ReputationRep:
    These standardised grades things get me vexed, people should be shown boundaries to be able to aim for instead of this uncertainty. Plus it might disadvantage me <guitar string snaps>!
    Don't the grades go like this:
    First
    2:1
    2:2
    Third
    Ordinary
    Fail?

Sod me if I'm getting any lower than a 2:2 just because other people kicked my ass...

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ZJuwelH)