The Student Room Group

Advice

Hello,

I'm a first year medical student in London having a few issues...I like studying medicine but I absolutely hate the uni, and seem to be disliking it more and more every day to the point where I dread going in. I made an effort during freshers but made a few mistakes with the people I hung around with, and now friendship groups have been formed I don't fit in anywhere.

I did think that I would be able to stick at the course here because its such a good opportunity, but part of me wants to drop out and study a different course elsewhere just to get away from the place. I've looked into transfers and the majority of places want extenuating circumstances.

I dont know what to do :frown:
Reply 1
I'd chill out and take the longer view. I know the cliques look set but, trust me, there's ebb and flow throughout the five years - a lot of freindships and friendship groups change. What's more there are lots of people in your medical school who find themselves in a similar situation to you. Be cool and it'll sort itself out.
Reply 2
I think most people find themselves in situations like that over the five years, with people getting together, breaking up, taking intercalations, qualifying, taking out-firms and etc etc. Freshers is a bit of a bubble year, things branch out more and more as you go on. Just take things as they come.
keewee20
Hello,

I'm a first year medical student in London having a few issues...I like studying medicine but I absolutely hate the uni, and seem to be disliking it more and more every day to the point where I dread going in. I made an effort during freshers but made a few mistakes with the people I hung around with, and now friendship groups have been formed I don't fit in anywhere.