Arete
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 10 years ago
I've read a few topics about people doing self-taught Highers in sixth year, but no one doing them in fifth year seemingly.

I've chosen my Highers for next year and will be starting back on the Friday of this week since all the Standard Grade exams are finished. I'll be doing five Highers (English, French, History, Modern Studies and Classical Studies) and I wanted to do RMPS before choosing Classical Studies (which I'm happy about) but couldn't because the columns didn't work properly.

But I really enjoy RMPS and don't find it very difficult because I debate often and read quite a few articles on the subjects discussed in RMPS - and have an interest in religion and philosophy in general. Therefore, I want to do RMPS at Higher but it's impossible to do within my own school due to the aforementioned timetable constraints.

So, I want to know where I would get the materials required to teach myself RMPS at Higher? I think I'm definitely dedicated enough to achieve a very good grade and I'm equally comfortable with my other subjects. But, would people say this is a good idea? Six Highers?

And how would I go about arranging to be an "external candidate", sitting my NABs at a centre nearby? Should I just phone them and ask about it, and which colleges might offer them? My nearest one doesn't seem to. When would I do the NABs? After school, or at weekends? I'm busy with school all day, so it'd be impossible on weekdays. Or is it too late to even do it now?

Lots of questions, but thanks for the help!
Spider Pig
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
I was actually in this position too at the start of fifth year, as my columns didnt work. I asked my RMPS teacher if I could self-study it but she said it would be too difficult as you need a teacher to explain the concepts and things, so I dont know if its the best subject to try and self study.