Turn on thread page Beta

I really have no knowledge of postgraduate study whatsoever and I'm just making a general inquiry out of interest, as this may be something I'd like to do in future.

Say I earned a first class degree in English from Glasgow, and earned a place at Cambridge for postgraduate study (as my cousin's best friend has just done, except for geography), would I be able to complete a masters degree for a year or two and then go on to work in something like publishing, or is the whole point of postgraduate study a stepping stone to becoming an academic/teacher?

That's not to say I won't decide to become either of those things in a few years' time, but I just want to keep all my options open, and am wondering if a masters/PhD opens doors.

ReputationRep:
    Well depends on the specific subject in relation to geoscience you can only do certin jobs with a postgrad degree e.g apply to one of the large oli companies. A science PhD will possibly also relate to industry in one apect hence companies often want high level research hence you can be employed that way.

So in science the academic route is not the only route per se

I'm sure some people can give better advise on a arts subject but im positive it can open doors that would otherwise be closed

ReputationRep:
    Doing postgrad doesn´t hinder your job prospects, but you would have to be prepared to be that bit older and still get the same starting salary as depending upon your area, MAs etc aren´t usually renumerated so well.
    My boss did an MA and PhD in the hispanic field and focussed on film and visual arts and now runs a relatively famous film institute in London...so it can all be beneficial in the end

ReputationRep: