Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hola Amigos,

I'm off to spend my 3rd year at a Japanese University and I am currently super confused as to what happens with the money shizzle. I have been recieveing full whack loan for my last 2 years along with full maintenance grant.

Does anyone know if I will be entitled to same sort of funding as I have been receiveing? Also has anyone had any luck with claiming back travel expenses from the LEA? Any schloarships or burasaries I should try and abuse?

I have tried speaking to Student Finance England, but they are just beyond useless

Thank you please

ReputationRep:
    You still get finance as normal, plus a little bit more for being abroad! (like how you get more if you live in London).

As far as travel expenses go, you may be able to get something but it depends on LEA and other factors -- it's all stuff you find out when you apply!

ReputationRep:
    Ermm does it not depend whether you're in Europe or out of Europe? I thought that you get more financial help if you do it through ERASMUS i.e stay in Europe. I'm probably wrong :dontknow:

ReputationRep:
    If you're doing Erasmus then you get the Erasmus grant, otherwise you still get student finance all the same. (i.e. regardless of EU/not in EU). Like in my case, it's in Europe (France), but not Erasmus, so I get the same finance I get now, just slightly increased cos it's overseas.

ReputationRep:
    So, basically, if I don't do Erasmus, I'd still get at least the normal maintenance loan (which is what I get now?). If I did do Erasmus, would I still get normal student finance or not?

ReputationRep:
    If you don't do Erasmus, you'll get the normal maintenance loan, and this figure will be a couple of hundred quid higher (yay !!). It's like how you get more if you're living in London, you get even more if you study overseas.